Katie’s Ground
Katie’s Ground Podcast
Mountains or Church
6
0:00
-1:51

Mountains or Church

6

This is my first podcast, so I picked something short. I hope to record my blogs so you can listen if you like.

John Muir says, “I’d rather be in the mountains thinking of God than in church thinking about the mountains.” Sure, the earth is full of the glory of God. The mountains can be complicated as a symphony. The heavens pour forth speech. Step outside, watch the moon rise and feel awe. A stand of old growth trees might have been what cathedrals were trying to imitate. Theologians have called creation a sort of Bible.

People don’t go to church these days. From a young age, they are taught that school competitions are more important than Sunday worship. They are driven away by crabby church ladies or creepy pastors who assault their bodies and emotions. Or God has betrayed them with losses beyond cussing Him out.

But church is the only place where you can take the Eucharist—the bread of life--the body and blood of Jesus, where your cells absorb the real presence of Christ at a level more intimate than sex. It’s where you pause and consider your failings towards God and neighbor. This mystery has lifted my spirit. My darkness of ruminating on what’s gone wrong has eased. My spirit has lightened.

Taking that bit of bread and wine next to the person you might not like, shows you how to let them be them, let you be you. Eventually you forgive. At church we are challenged by truths worked out over thousands of years that help us love God and neighbor. We find community that can ease loneliness.

I’m Katie Andraski and that’s my perspective.

Discussion about this podcast

Katie’s Ground
Katie’s Ground Podcast
A newsletter about coming to the ground and catching light through words and pictures.
Listen on
Substack App
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Katie Andraski